NVTC Board Members Appointed to the Innovation and Entrepreneurship Investment Authority (IEIA)

The Center for Innovative Technology (CIT) announced today the appointment of six new members, including two NVTC Board members and one representative of a member university, to the Board of Directors of the Innovation and Entrepreneurship Investment Authority (IEIA).

Gov. Bob McDonnell appointed NVTC Chairman Emeritus David C. Lucien of DCL Associates and Michael Rao of NVTC member Virginia Commonwealth University. NVTC Board Member Joseph Doherty of ACS Government Solutions was appointed as a citizen member of IEIA by Virginia House of Delegates Speaker William J. Howell (R-Stafford).

The IEIA, which oversees CIT, promotes the economic development of the Commonwealth by attracting and retaining high technology jobs and businesses in Virginia. It is responsible for accelerating all phases of technology company creation from research and development through commercialization, capital formation and successful product assimilation.

NVTC Board Member Dr. Charles Steger of Virginia Tech is Vice Chair of the IEIA Board. NVTC Board Members Dr. Ray Johnson of Lockheed Martin Corporation, Hooks Johnston of Valhalla Partners and Dr. Alan Merten of George Mason University serve on the IEIA Board. Former NVTC Board Members Ted Cahall and Virginia Secretary of Technology Jim Duffey also serve on the IEIA Board.