Event Archive

Northern Virginia Technology Council - Event Calendar

The Greater Washington Technology CFO Awards

An NVTC Signature Event

May 29, 2013

Congratulations to the following winners:

Private Company CFO of the Year: Michael Corkery, Deltek • As Deltek’s CEO, Michael Corkery is the driving force behind Deltek’s mission of delivering superior enterprise software, information solutions and consulting services to project-based businesses worldwide. Corkery leads more than 1,600 employees who serve Deltek’s 16,000 customers across 80 countries around the world. Prior to becoming CEO, Corkery was Deltek’s acting CEO since December 2012 and Deltek’s CFO since he joined the company in January 2010. Corkery is a graduate of St. Bonaventure University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting. In 2012, he was named CFO of the Year by SmartCEO for his continued success at Deltek.

Public Company CFO of the Year: Don Clarke, Eloqua • Don Clarke was named Eloqua’s chief financial officer in March 2008 bringing nearly 20 years of experience in key executive positions in both emerging and publicly traded technology companies. He was instrumental in helping to drive Eloqua’s revenues from $21 million in 2007 to more than $125 million in 2013. In August 2012, Clarke and Eloqua’s CEO led the company’s successful initial public offering and, in December 2012, Eloqua announced it had reached an agreement to be acquired by Oracle. Clarke holds a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting from Virginia Tech and is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Emerging Growth CFO of the Year: Tony Abate, Echo360 • Tony Abate brings more than 20 years of experience in the technology, digital media and converged services fields to Echo360. Over the course of his career, Abate has served in a variety of product management, senior executive, investment and advisory roles. As an investor at Battery Ventures and Whitney & Co., Abate served on the board of several venture-backed startups. His seasoned guidance on how to profitably scale in nascent markets helped companies like Homestore, RelevantKnowledge and Cbeyond Communications go from concept to a successful IPO or exit. Abate graduated summa cum laude with a BSE in electrical engineering from Duke University and holds an MBA with honors from Harvard Business School.

Financier of the Year: Tige Savage, Revolution Ventures • Tige Savage co-leads Revolution Ventures, which invests in and helps build innovative and impactful companies. Savage has more than two decades of industry experience and was named one of the Washington, D.C. area’s 100 “Tech Titans” in 2011 by Washingtonian Magazine. Savage co-founded Revolution LLC with Steve Case in 2005. Prior to Revolution, Savage was vice president of Time Warner Ventures, where he led a team focused on investments in technology and next generation media companies. Savage received an MBA with highest distinction from the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business in 1998 and a Bachelor of Arts degree in business administration from James Madison University in 1990.

Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Award: John Burton • John Burton is a co-founder and general partner of Updata Partners. His experience in information technology spans three decades as a senior executive of high-growth private and public companies. He has extensive experience in mergers and acquisitions, having executed more than 25 in operating roles and in board-level and advisory capacities. Burton has been recognized by the technology community in the Mid-Atlantic with the 2002 Financier of the Year Award, given by the Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC), and the 2002 Earle C. Williams Award. Burton was a founding member of NVTC and is currently president of the Mid-Atlantic Venture Association (MAVA). Burton graduated with honors from Boston College.

Congratulations and thank you to all the 2013 CFO Award finalists:

Private Company CFO of the Year:
Wayne Grubbs, GlobalLogic
Rosalind Kadasi, Artel, LLC
Jennifer Moyer, Alarm.com
Stephen Waechter, ARINC Incorporated

Public Company CFO of the Year Award:
John Krobath, KEYW
David Walker, MAXIMUS

Emerging Growth CFO of the Year Award:
Michael Dunn, Siteworx
Jorge Forgues, Vivisimo and Decision Lens
Julia Pulzone, CodeRyte
Kristyn Reed-Salow, Fishbowl

Financier of the Year Award:
Tony Florence, New Enterprise Associates
Michael Lustbader, Arlington Capital Partners
Tom Weithman, CIT GAP Funds


Platinum Sponsor: PwC
Gold Sponsors: AH&T Insurance; Deloitte & Touche LLP; ePlus Inc.; Ernst & Young; Houlihan Lokey; KPMG; Pillsbury; Silicon Valley Bank
Kick Off Reception Sponsors: MorganFranklin Consulting; Morrison & Foerster LLP; Stout Risius Ross
Banquet Reception Sponsors: McGladrey LLP; RyanSharkey, LLP; THOMPSON, GREENSPON & CO., P.C.
Nominee Reception Sponsors: Clearsight Advisors; Wells Fargo; Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale & Dorr LLP
Silver Sponsors: BB&T Capital Markets | Windsor Group; Bluestone Capital Partners; Capital One Bank; Capital Search Group, LLC; Chesapeake Group at Morgan Stanley; Gleacher & Co.; Grant Thornton; HP; Kinetek Consulting LLC; Korn/Ferry International; Latisys; Lockton Companies, LLC; Newmark Grubb Knight Frank; Protiviti Inc.; Randstad Finance & Accounting; Robert Half Executive Search; Robert Half International; Shapiro White & Associates, LLC; SunTrust Bank; Virginia Department of Business Assistance; WTAS
Media Partners: Capital Business; SmartCEO;Washington Technology
Video Production Sponsor: Cox Business Services

The Ritz-Carlton
1700 Tysons Blvd.
McLean, VA