Northern Virginia Technology Council Congratulates 2014 Greater Washington Technology CFO Award Winners

A record-setting 900 people gathered at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner for the 18th Annual NVTC Greater Washington Technology CFO Awards on June 2. The CFO Awards recognize local chief financial officers and financiers for outstanding achievement and excellence in promoting the area's technology community. NVTC President and CEO Bobbie Kilberg set the stage by welcoming attendees to the evening's festivities. KPMG was the platinum sponsor of the CFO Awards and KPMG Partner Mark Callihan served as master of ceremonies.

During the awards gala, Ron Kaiser was honored with the Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Award for his lifetime contributions to our region's technology business community.

2014 CFO Winners.
The 2014 NVTC CFO Award winners (L-R): John Hartley of SAIC, Mark Callihan of Event Platinum Sponsor KPMG, David Walker of MAXIMUS, Bill Davis of Blackboard, Tony Florence of New Enterprise Associates, Bill Aldrich of Parature, Ron Kaiser, and NVTC President and CEO Bobbie Kilberg.

Financier of the Year: Tony Florence, New Enterprise Associates – Tony Florence is a general partner and co-leads New Enterprise Associate (NEA)’s Venture Growth Equity investment practice as well as the firm’s consumer Internet effort. Florence focuses on investments in the Internet and software sectors. Florence is a director of Care.com, Cvent (NYSE: CVT), Moda Operandi, Edmodo and EverFi, and is involved in a number of NEA’s venture growth equity portfolio companies, including Gilt Groupe. He led the firm’s investment in Quidsi (Diapers.com), which was acquired by Amazon in 2011. Prior to joining NEA, Florence spent more than a decade at Morgan Stanley, focusing on the technology sector, and also worked with a number of NEA’s companies in both IPOs and M&A transactions.

Private Company CFO of the Year: Bill Davis, Blackboard – Bill Davis is the CFO at Blackboard, where he has been instrumental in redefining Blackboard’s strategy, reorganizing its operations to better align with the markets Blackboard serves. In 2013, Davis led business optimization efforts that are estimated to have saved the company more than $20 million in annualized cost. Davis also created and leads the company’s mergers and acquisitions strategy and has successfully managed several Blackboard acquisitions that contribute to the company mission of building a better educational experience for everyone. Before joining Blackboard in 2012, Davis was the CFO at Allscripts Healthcare Solutions and CFO of Lante Corporation. Davis is a certified public accountant.

Emerging Growth CFO of the Year: Robert “Bob” Aldrich, Parature – Prior to Microsoft’s acquisition of Parature, Bob Aldrich was responsible for the financial, administrative and business operations of Parature. Additionally, he assisted the founders with strategy and managing the company. Prior to joining Parature, Aldrich served as senior vice president and chief financial officer of Q.Know Technologies Inc., a privately-held enterprise software company in the document and content management space. Aldrich was vice president and CFO for NFR Security, a venture-backed company providing network security products. His responsibilities at both companies included all financial operations, shareholder and analyst communications, and business operations including legal, human resources and purchasing. Earlier in his career, Aldrich was a controller at two public companies – IGEN International and Best Software.

Public Company CFO of the Year: David Walker, MAXIMUS – With nearly 25 years of financial management experience, David Walker became CFO of MAXIMUS in 2006. In his current role, Walker is responsible for leading the MAXIMUS finance organization. He previously served as vice president and controller for MAXIMUS from 2002 to 2006. Prior to MAXIMUS, Walker served as the senior vice president, CFO and controller for LCC International and vice president and corporate controller of BAE North America. He also held several positions with managerial and financial responsibility, including group controller with TRW (formerly BDM International).

Large Company of the Year: John Hartley, SAIC – John R. Hartley is executive vice president and CFO for SAIC. He is responsible for leading SAIC’s overall financial strategies, operations and processes. Hartley previously served as SAIC’s corporate controller and also the company’s principle accounting officer, where he led the company’s Sarbanes-Oxley transformation program. He began his career at SAIC in 2001 as vice president and director of accounting operations. Before joining SAIC, Hartley spent 12 years with the public accounting firm of Deloitte LLP in their assurance and advisory practice where he worked with numerous clients in multiple industries but concentrated in the aerospace and defense industries in Los Angeles and San Diego.

Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Award: Ron Kaiser – Ron Kaiser has more than 30 years of experience in public and private finance, accounting, and operations management, and has served as CFO or CEO for companies in the information technology, life sciences and high tech manufacturing sectors. Since 1981, he has served as CFO during six initial public offerings which raised more than $400 million on initial valuations and totaled more than $1.7 billion. In addition, he was an executive officer during the development of more than a dozen companies, including the sale of five companies for amounts totaling $1 billion. As a board member for OPNET Technologies Inc., Kaiser served from 2003 through its sale to Riverbed in 2012. In addition, he has served as audit committee chair and board member since 2005 for Vocus Technologies Inc., since 2008 for Tangoe Inc., and as board and committee member since 2012 for The NEAT COMPANY and Acetylon Pharmaceuticals, both private companies in software and drug discovery.

Congratulations and thank you to all the 2014 CFO Award finalists:

The Financier of the Year:
Tony Florence, New Enterprise Associates
Carter Griffin, Updata Partners
LLR Partners
Tom Roberts, Harbert Venture Partners (HVP)

Private Company CFO of the Year:
Bas Brukx, Clarabridge
Bill Davis, Blackboard Inc.
Cathy Graham, 2U
Maria Izurieta, 3Pillar Global
Bill Loomis, FileTek Inc. and Centennial Computer Corporation
Anthony Schulien, ECS Federal Inc.

Emerging Growth CFO of the Year:
Robert (Bob) Aldrich, Parature Inc.
Eileen Anderson, InfoPro Incorporated
Andrew Gabor, Tenable Network Security
Joe Harar, EdgeConneX Inc.
Jim Keller, BoxTone Inc.
Robert (Bob) Latchford, Optoro Inc.

Public Company CFO of the Year:
Cary Claiborne
, Sucampo Pharmaceuticals
John Ferrari, United Therapeutics
Robert (Bob) Kramer, Emergent BioSolutions Inc.
Brian Radecki, CoStar Group
David Walker, MAXIMUS

Large Company CFO of the Year:
John Hartley, SAIC
Hal Jones, Graham Holdings Company
Roger Millay, Towers Watson