Northern Virginia Technology Council Announces Finalists for 2019 Capital Cyber Awards

The Capital Cyber Awards celebrate the region's best companies and individuals in cybersecurity

(Herndon, Virginia) September 24, 2019 — The Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC) today announced the finalists for the inaugural Capital Cyber Awards. The finalists have demonstrated dedication, vision, innovation and an ability to address industry-wide challenges.

In today’s dynamic and fast-paced cyber landscape, it is critical to stay ahead of advanced and persistent threats we continue to see across both industry and sector. The Capital Cyber Award finalists are focused on solving the industry’s most important cybersecurity-related problems for both enterprise and federal agencies.

“With today’s cyber threats becoming more and more sophisticated, both the public and private sectors must be able to anticipate and prevent attacks. This region has the best and brightest in the world when it comes to innovative cybersecurity solutions that protect against pervasive threats,” said Bobbie Kilberg, President and CEO, NVTC. “We are excited to announce a list of exceptional individuals and highly-regarded companies as finalists for the Capital Cyber Awards.”

This year’s program attracted more than 50 nominations throughout the Greater Washington, D.C. area. The 27 finalists, including local companies, government agencies and individuals, represent the region’s diverse and thriving technology ecosystem. Of these finalists, six winners will be selected by Bob Coleman, Todd Headley, Tom McDonough, Cisco, Tony Moraco, and Jerry Schepers, Praxis Engineering.

The award winners will include companies who show dedication, vision and a proven track record of substantial contributions in their company and the technology industry in the Greater Washington region. Winners will be announced Tuesday, October 1, 2019 at the Capital Cybersecurity Summit Awards luncheon taking place at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner.

For more information on the event and the full agenda, please visit http://www.capitalcybersummit.com/agenda/

The category finalists include:

Cyber Company Under $25 Million
PFP Cybersecurity

Cyber Company Over $25 Million
GuidePoint Security
IronNet Cybersecurity

Cyber CEO of the Year
John Ackerly, Virtru
John Czupak, ThreatQuotient
Wayne Jackson, Sonatype
Julian Setian, SOS International
Promod Sharma, Criterion Systems
Amit Yoran, Tenable

CISO of the Year
Michael Baker, General Dynamics Information Technology
Nicole Dean, Accenture Federal Services
Chris Porter, Fannie Mae

Government CISO of the Year
Clifford “Matt” Conner, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Michael Dent, Fairfax County Government
Connie Nie, Fairfax County Public Schools
Randy Vickers, U.S. House of Representatives

Cyber Deal of the Year
Merlin International

# # #

About the Northern Virginia Technology Council The Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC) is the membership and trade association for the technology community in Northern Virginia. As the largest technology council in the nation, NVTC serves about 1,000 companies from all sectors of the technology industry, as well as service providers, universities, foreign embassies, nonprofit organizations and governmental agencies. Through its member companies, NVTC represents about 350,000 employees in the region. NVTC is recognized as the nation's leader in providing its technology community with networking and educational events; specialized services and benefits; public policy advocacy; branding of its region as a major global technology center; initiatives in targeted business sectors and in the international, entrepreneurship, workforce and education arenas; and the NVTC Foundation, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charity that supports the NVTC Veterans Employment Initiative and other priorities within Virginia's technology community. Visit NVTC at http://www.nvtc.org.