TechCelebration: NVTC’s 25th Anniversary Banquet Highlighted Industry’s Best

On Monday, Oct. 24, about 700 members of the Northern Virginia technology community came together at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner to celebrate NVTC’s 25th anniversary at TechCelebration, NVTC’s annual banquet.

After the opening welcome, NVTC Chair Todd Stottlemyer, President and CEO of the Inova Center for Personalized Health, and NVTC President and CEO Bobbie Kilberg led a special ceremony highlighting many of NVTC’s achievements throughout its first 25 years and recognizing NVTC’s past Board Chairs and our Board members who, through their leadership and dedication, have guided NVTC’s direction and promoted our growth. Nine of the ten living NVTC former Chairs gathered onstage to be honored. In order of their service, they are: Ed Bersoff, Dave Lucien, Mike Daniels, Kathy Clark, John Backus, Sudhakar Shenoy, Donna Morea, Brad Antle and Sudhakar Kesavan.

NVTC’s past Board Chairs were then joined onstage by the daughters of Earle C. Williams and past winners of the Earle C. Williams Leadership in Technology Award: Paul Lombardi, Alan Merten, Mario Morino, Marge O’Deen, representing Phil O’Deen, and John Toups. Williams was a technology pioneer and visionary in the region and one of NVTC’s founders. He was an exceptional leader of our community’s business, educational and cultural institutions. He was also a veteran who believed deeply in America and in supporting the men and women who have served in our Armed Forces. In honor of Williams, the group onstage generously contributed almost $50,000 to the newly established Earle C. Williams Fund, which benefits the NVTC Veterans Employment Initiative through the NVTC Foundation. To make a contribution in support of the NVTC Veterans Employment Initiative, please contact Allison Gilmore at agilmore@nvtc.org or donate online at foundation.nvtc.org.

Former NVTC Board Chairs, Earle C. Williams Leadership in Technology Award winners and the daughters of Earle C. Williams gathered onstage.

The event also featured Steve Case, chairman and CEO of Revolution, who accepted the Pinnacle Award for his outstanding leadership and contributions in the Northern Virginia community. Case, who co-founded AOL, is one of America’s best-known and most accomplished entrepreneurs. He is also the author of the New York Timesbestselling book, The Third Wave: An Entrepreneur’s Vision of the Future.

In his remarks, Case credited NVTC for supporting the growth of the region’s technology community over the last 25 years. He shared his thoughts on the three waves of entrepreneurship; the first that built the Internet; the second that built the apps and services on top of the Internet; and the coming third wave, the “Internet of Everything.” This new wave is stimulating partnerships that will transform the way industries such as healthcare, education, transportation and agriculture operate and integrate the Internet into our daily lives in a more personalized way.

Case stated that success in this third wave of entrepreneurship would require a different playbook than the past and must be built upon partnerships, policy changes and perseverance, with fewer overnight successes. Case described the rise of Northern Virginia and the Greater Washington region as an epicenter of innovation and how our region can succeed in the third wave by leveraging the strengths of the community to foster a powerful innovation ecosystem.

From left: NVTC President and CEO Bobbie Kilberg, Revolution Chairman and CEO Steve Case, Brinks, Gilson & Lione Managing Partner Lyle Vander Schaaf and Inova Center for Personalized Health President and CEO and NVTC Board Chair Todd Stottlemyer.

In addition, the event included the presentation of the 2016 NVTC Tech Awards, which honored groundbreaking companies, leaders and innovations in our region's technology community, and the new Veterans Employment Initiative Veteran Service Award. Congratulations to the following winners: Patrocinium Systems, Tech Patent of the Year; Michael B. O’Neil, Jr. of GetWellNetwork and Roger A. Krone of Leidos, Tech Executive of the Year; ScienceLogic, Tech Company of the Year (Under $50 Million in Revenue); Optoro, Tech Company of the Year (Over $50 Million in Revenue); and The MITRE Corporation, VEI Veteran Service Award. For a full list of winners and finalists click here.