NVTC Technology Executives Visit Policymakers in Richmond

Following the start of the 2016 General Assembly session, members of the NVTC Board of Directors and NVTC member companies spent Jan. 27 in Richmond discussing NVTC priorities with policymakers.

The NVTC delegation spent the day meeting with legislators and McAuliffe administration officials to discuss the NVTC Veterans Employment Initiative and several NVTC priorities, including legislation to strengthen Virginia's R&D tax credit and create a new R&D Credit for larger companies, legislation to extend the sunset for Virginia’s sales and use tax exemption for data centers, and legislation to strengthen Virginia’s angel investor tax credit. NVTC also expressed strong support for the Center for Innovative Technology and MACH37 and their efforts to help accelerate innovation, commercialization and new company formation across the Commonwealth.

NVTC participants included NVTC President and CEO Bobbie Kilberg; NVTC Chair Todd Stottlemyer, CEO of the Inova Center for Personalized Health; AIS Network CEO Jay Atkinson; NVTC Veterans Employment Initiative Co-Chair Steve Cooker, executive vice president of Monster Worldwide; CourseMaven CTO Duffy Mazan; University of Virginia President Teresa Sullivan and McLean Capital Managing Partner Dendy Young.

NVTC Board Day in Richmond.
From left: NVTC Manager of Veterans Employment Steve Jordon, Dendy Young of McLean Capital, Lt. Governor Ralph Northam, NVTC President and CEO Bobbie Kilberg, NVTC Chair Todd Stottlemyer, Jay Atkinson of AIS Network, NVTC Vice President of Policy Josh Levi, NVTC Public Policy Manager Troy Murphy, NVTC Veterans Employment Initiative Co-Chair Steve Cooker of Monster Worldwide

The group met with members of the McAuliffe Administration, including Lt. Governor Ralph Northam, Attorney General Mark Herring, Governor McAuliffe’s Chief of Staff Paul Reagan, and Secretary of Finance Ric Brown.

The group also met with members of the General Assembly including Speaker Bill Howell, House Courts of Justice Chairman Dave Albo, House Transportation Chairman Ron Villanueva, Delegate Tag Greason, Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn, Senate Republican Caucus Chairman Ryan McDougle, Senator Adam Ebbin, Senator Jennifer Wexton, and Senator Jill Vogel.

Stay Connected with NVTC's Advocacy Team in Richmond

NVTC's public policy team is in Richmond for the duration of the session advocating for the needs of the Northern Virginia technology community and we welcome your feedback. Feel free to contact us at any time with questions, ideas or suggestions:

NVTC Vice President of Policy Josh Levi (703-904-7878 x 214)
NVTC Public Policy Manager Troy Murphy (703-904-7878 x 218)

Weekly legislative conference calls with the NVTC advocacy team will continue for the remainder of the session through March 11. Please send an email to Troy Murphy if you would like to receive notice and call-in information for NVTC's weekly conference calls.