Northern Virginia Technology Council Announces Finalists of Third Annual Virginia Data Center Awards

MCLEAN, Va. October 20, 2021 —Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC), the trade association representing the national capital region’s technology community, today announced the finalists of the 2021 NVTC Virginia Data Center Awards. In celebration of the Virginia Data Center industry’s enormous growth and impact in our region, the awards will be presented on November 16, 2021 at Stone Tower Winery in Leesburg, Va.

The mission of the NVTC Data Center and Cloud Community is to provide a consistent, collective and compelling voice for promoting the interests of the region's ever-growing data center and cloud community in order to contribute to the long-term growth and prosperity of the industry. The award finalists represent the best of the data center industry in our region.  The seven award categories recognize those at the forefront of innovative construction projects, energy efficient practices, as well as impactful community and veteran engagements.

“As the global pandemic has forced companies to rethink their business operations and rely more heavily on digital tools and initiatives, Northern Virginia’s data center and cloud industry has stepped up to the plate and delivered. Data centers in our region now more than ever play a critical role in business continuity, data security, and cloud accessibility and Northern Virginia continues to be the leading data center market worldwide. We congratulate these finalists for their innovative contributions to Virginia’s data center industry,” said Jennifer Taylor, president and CEO, NVTC.

We are pleased to announce that the following individuals were chosen as finalists by an independent panel of business leaders. Additionally, the Data Center Icon Award will be given to Marc Ganzi president and chief executive officer of DigitalBridge during the awards ceremony.

Data Center Community Champion Award
7x24 Exchange Washington DC Chapter
Data Center Coalition
Troy Hill, Iron Mountain Data Centers
AFCOM Potomac Chapter
Erich Sanchack, Digital Realty
Daisy Saulls, Equinix

Data Center Construction Project Award
DPR Construction

Data Center DE&I Leadership Award
Randy Brouckman, EdgeConneX
Shalini Sharma, Vantage Data Centers
Dave Smith, Microsoft

Data Center NextGen Leadership Award
Joe Harar, EdgeConneX
Jim Henry, Iron Mountain Data Centers
Alex Marcham, Digital Realty
Greg Thompson, Vantage Data Centers

Data Center Sustainable Champion Awards
Sormeh McCullough, Digital Realty
Andrew Schaap, Aligned
Dave Smith, Microsoft

Data Center Trailblazer Award
Daniel Golding, Google
Josh Levi, Data Center Coalition
Vinay Nagpal, InterGlobix

Data Center Veterans High Impact Award
Mark Barry, Saltenna
Erich Sanchack, Digital Realty

This year’s NVTC Data Center Awards are sponsored by Equinix, Loudoun County Economic Development, Northern Virginia Community College, Bohler, Digital Realty, Facebook, Prince William County Economic Development, QTS, Google, Henrico County Economic Development, Level Green Landscaping, Vantage Data Centers and Scoop News Group. InterGlobix Magazine is the media partner for the awards.

For more information and to register for the awards ceremony, please visit here


About the Northern Virginia Technology Council
The Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC) is the trade association representing the national capital region’s technology community. As one of the nation's largest technology councils, NVTC serves companies from all sectors of the industry, from small businesses and startups to Fortune 100 technology companies, as well as service providers, academic institutions, and nonprofit organizations. Nearly 500 entities make up the NVTC membership and look to the organization as a resource for networking and educational opportunities, peer-to-peer communities, policy advocacy, industry promotion, fostering of strategic relationships, and branding of the region as a major global technology center. Visit NVTC at

Media Contact
Kara Mauceri
Northern Virginia Technology Council

Elizabeth Rhee
Merritt Group