Northern Virginia Technology Council Announces 2019 Capital Cyber Award Winners

The Capital Cyber Award winners represent the region's best companies and individuals in cybersecurity

(Herndon, Virginia) October 2, 2019 — On the first day of Cybersecurity Awareness Month, the Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC) announced the winners of the inaugural Capital Cyber Awards at the fourth annual Capital Cybersecurity Summit at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner.

With federal and commercial markets often at an intersection, the National Capital region houses an unmatched technology ecosystem. The Capital Cyber Award winners demonstrated dedication, vision and a proven track record of substantial contributions in their company and the technology industry in the Greater Washington region.

“Congratulations to all the nominees, finalists and winners of NVTC’s inaugural Capital Cyber Awards. Each brought unique perspectives and innovative solutions to cyber industry challenges,” said Bobbie Kilberg President and CEO of NVTC. “Each applicant is part of this region’s thriving hub of impressive companies and highly skilled individuals. We are very pleased to announce the inaugural winners.”

This year’s program attracted more than 50 nominations from impressive companies, organizations and individuals working toward industry innovation, throughout the Greater Washington, D.C. area. In the six categories, the 27 finalists included local companies, government agencies and individuals, who represent the region’s diverse and thriving technology ecosystem. The panel of judges included Bob Coleman, LookingGlass Cyber Solutions, Todd Headley, ZeroFOX, Tom McDonough, Cisco, Tony Moraco, retired CEO of SAIC, and Jerry Schepers of Praxis Engineering.

Capital Cyber Award Winners
Capital Cyber Award Winners

The category winners are:
Cyber Company Under $25 Million - ThreatQuotient
Cyber Company Over $25 Million - Sonatype
Cyber CEO of the Year - Amit Yoran, Tenable
CISO of the Year - Nicole Dean, Accenture Federal Services
Government CISO of the Year - Clifford “Matt” Conner, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Cyber Deal of the Year - Endgame