Technology Higher Ed Alliance


As part of NVTC’s commitment to strengthen our region’s leadership in the areas of education, workforce and economic development, we established the NVTC “Technology Higher Education Alliance” (THEA) to connect, engage and advance the strategic objectives of the region’s higher education community.

The committee’s mission is to integrate higher education partners with technology employers to gain a better understanding of their workforce needs. As part of NVTC’s Board of Directors, the Alliance will convene quarterly to collaborate and discuss initiatives that align with NVTC’s mission to strengthen businesses in the technology community with skilled talent and drive economic growth in Commonwealth.


The Alliance will create a unique platform for the Commonwealth’s colleges and universities to increase collaboration, fast track strategic initiatives, and uncover teaming opportunities together with technology employers. The Alliance’s ultimate goal is to develop stronger educational programs to meet the workforce needs of the regional technology community.


Jonathan Alger, James Madison University
Irma Becerra, Marymount University
Anne Kress, Northern Virginia Community College
Thomas LeBlanc, The George Washington University
Troy Paino, University of Mary Washington
Katherine A. Rowe, William & Mary
Timothy D. Sands, Virginia Tech
Dr. Gregory Washington, George Mason University
Michael Rao, Virginia Commonwealth University
James Ryan, University of Virginia

Staff Liaisons
Troy Murphy – tmurphy@nvtc.org
Tyler Fearn – tfearn@nvtc.org

Supporting Sponsors