Northern Virginia Technology Council Applauds Creation of Virginia Cyber Security Commission and the Appointment of John Wood, NVTC Board Member, as a Commission Member

The Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC) applauds Governor Terry McAuliffe’s creation of the Virginia Cyber Security Commission and his selection of NVTC Board member John Wood, CEO and chairman of Telos Corporation, as a member of the Commission. The Commission will bring public and private sector experts together to make recommendations on how to enhance Virginia as a leader in cyber security. Wood will assist the Commission in identifying Virginia’s high risk cyber security issues and provide advice, recommendations, and best practices for essential cyber security efforts across the Commonwealth.

"NVTC applauds Governor McAuliffe's establishment today of the Virginia Cyber Security Commission. Cyber security is a major priority for the Commonwealth, Virginia’s technology community and NVTC,” said NVTC President & CEO Bobbie Kilberg. “We are pleased that John has been tapped for this Commission – he is a proven leader and an invaluable expert in the field. We look forward to supporting the work of the Commission and its recommendations as they are developed.”

“As a member of the Northern Virginia Technology Council’s Board of Directors, I am honored to be asked to support Governor McAuliffe in this effort and I am proud that he has taken a proactive approach to growing Virginia's cyber security industry and our statewide capabilities,” said Wood. “I am hopeful that Virginia will put more effort and funding behind cyber security research moving forward so we can continue to advance Virginia's national leadership in this critical area.”

Governor McAuliffe issued an Executive Order creating the Commission earlier this year. The Commission also includes the following members of NVTC: BAE Systems Inc., represented by Jeffrey C. Dodson; University of Virginia, represented by Dr. Barry Horowitz; VISA, represented by Andrew H. Turner; and Hunton & Williams LLP, represented by Paul Tiao. Other members include industry leaders from across the Commonwealth and representatives from the McAuliffe Administration. The Commission will hold its inaugural meeting on June 11.